Bullets, Wanderers fans vow to vote for civilian teams in Standard Bank

Bullets FC and Mighty Wanderers supporters have ganged up to vote for civilian team in the Standard Bank Knock Out Cup.
In this year’s format top eight teams from 2012 TNM Super League Mighty Wanderers, Blantyre United, Big Bullets, Red Lions and Civo United, get to be seeded while the other two will be from four teams that will be voted in by the bank’s customers.
The four voted teams will play in play-offs on October 16 to identify the two that join top six clubs to make the eight teams that while be in quarterfinals.
Only Red Lions finished in the top six which means Mafco, Kamuzu Barracks and Moyale Barrakcs have to rely on votes from supporters to play in the Standard Bank Knockout Cup.
In a move that will likely escalate the already worsening relationship between civilian and army teams, supporters of the two clubs that boast of over 3 million stronghold, have said they will vote for civilian teams.
The relationship between civilian and army teams has been sour as their supporters have been in running battles in both Super League and Carlsberg Cup recently which Kamuzu Barracks won.
This is happening yet Football Association of Malawi has stressed that there was need for peaceful coexistence between army and civilian teams.
“I don’t know what this will lead to if civilian and army teams’ supporters continue these hostilities,” Nyamilandu said during the launch of the competition last Friday.
Standard Bank has upped the sponsorship package for this year’s Standard Bank Knock Out Cup from K20 million to K25 million.
The bank made the announcement last Friday at Ryalls Hotel where they re-launched the cup.
Following the increment, this year’s champions will pocket K8 million, up from last year’s K7 million.
The runners up will cart home K4 million with the semi-finalists getting K500,000 each.
Losing quarter finalists will also get a consolation of K250,000.

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *